Tortilla Española

Amidst our cooking unit, I love the opportunity to put their understanding of vocabulary and the se impersonal to work. Our FCS teacher graciously allows us some kitchen time. Tortilla is easy to make and the supplies are inexpensive to purchase. I show this video first (found for me by a student teacher last year):

It does a great job of using our vocabulary. Afterward I have the students review it and “write the recipe” using commands or se impersonal, depending on what I want from them. We watch the video again to check their recipe. Finally, we look over this recipe and talk about any questions they have before they cook the next day. The students are excited to cook although some are less than enthusiastic about the food they are making. Hopefully I can post some pictures of our finished products on Twitter tomorrow!

About kaleestahr

I am a Spanish teacher at a small district outside of Lincoln, Nebraska. I teach levels 1, 3, and 4. I love to incorporate technology into my classroom along with current and relevant culture as I teach my students to, first and foremost, communicate in a second language.
This entry was posted in Commands, Culture, Grammar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment